Jump to Content
ABA: The American Bankers Association
Press Release

ABA Elects Officers, Board for 2023–2024


Members attending the American Bankers Association’s annual convention in Nashville, Tenn., have elected new ABA officers and directors to serve on ABA’s board for the 2023-2024 association year. The new officers are:

  • CHAIR: Julieann M. Thurlow, president and CEO, Reading Cooperative Bank, Reading, Mass.;
  • CHAIR-ELECT: John C. Asbury, chief executive officer, Atlantic Union Bancshares Corp., Richmond, Va.;
  • VICE CHAIR: Kenneth Kelly, chairman and CEO, First Independence Bank, Detroit; and
  • TREASURER: Carissa Rodeheaver, chairman, president and CEO, First United Bank & Trust, Oakland, Md.

Beginning new terms on the ABA board are:

  • John F. Hall, president and CEO, American Pride Bank, Macon, GA.;
  • Christie Huber Obenauer, president and CEO, Union State Bank of Hazen, Hazen, N.D.;
  • Saleem Iqbal, president and CEO, Habib American Bank, New York;
  • Tim Marshall, president and CEO, Bank of Ann Arbor, Ann Arbor, Mich.; and
  • Jim Ryan, chief executive officer, Old National Bancorp, Evansville, Ind.

The above board members will join ABA President and CEO Rob Nichols, who also serves as an officer, and the following current or appointed directors continuing their terms on ABA’s board:

  • Brent Beardall, president and CEO, WaFd Bank, Seattle;
  • Cheryl Bowers, president and CEO, Rondout Savings Bank, Kingston, N.Y.;
  • Bryan D. Bruns, president and CEO, Lake Central Bank, Annandale, Minn.;
  • John Ciulla, president and CEO, Webster Financial Corporation, Stamford, Conn.;
  • Simon Cruz, chairman of the board, Intercredit Bank, Coral Gables, Fla.;
  • James J. McQuade, president and CEO, Dollar Bank, Pittsburgh;
  • Larry Myers, president and CEO, First Savings Bank, Jeffersonville, Ind.;
  • Dave D. Nelson, president and CEO, West Bancorporation, Inc., West Des Moines, Iowa;
  • Jennifer Piepszak, Co-CEO, Consumer & Community Banking, JPMorgan Chase, New York;
  • K. Wayne Wicker, chairman and CEO, South Atlantic Bank, Myrtle Beach, S.C.;
  • Daniel D. Robb, president and CEO, Jonesburg State Bank, Jonesburg, Mo., and chair of the ABA Nominating Committee;
  • Gary R. Shook, president and CEO, Community Bankers’ Bank, Midlothian, Va., and chair of the ABA Government Relations Council;
  • Sarah A. Long, president, CEO and treasurer, Delaware Bankers Association, Dover, Del., and chair of the ABA/State Association Alliance; and
  • Rick Clayburgh, president and CEO, North Dakota Bankers Association, Bismarck, ND.; and vice chair of the ABA/State Association Alliance.

“I congratulate our newly elected officers and board members who will play such a critical role in our advocacy over the next year,” said Rob Nichols, ABA president and CEO. “Their depth of knowledge and experience representing financial institutions of all sizes, charters and business models from across the country will help ensure our industry can continue serving bank customers and the broader economy going forward.”


About the American Bankers Association

The American Bankers Association is the voice of the nation’s $24 trillion banking industry, which is composed of small, regional and large banks that together employ approximately 2.1 million people, safeguard $19 trillion in deposits and extend $12.4 trillion in loans.

Press Contact

Jeff Sigmund

(202) 663-5439

Contact Jeff
Useful Links

Resources for the Media

Media Contacts

All inquiries from the press can be directed to one of our press contacts.

ABA Expert Photos

Hi-Res photos for use by the press.

ABA Media Appearances

Getting the industry's message out – in print and on the air – about banks' health and lending, as well as policies that are harmful to economic recovery.

Media Credentials

Complimentary press registrations are available for select events.

Join Our Media Lists

Want to be added to our news release list? Sign up here.

RSS Feed

Get ABA press releases via RSS.