Jump to Content
ABA: The American Bankers Association
Skip Section Navigation
Women's Leadership Symposium

Program | ABA/IBA Women and Allies Leadership Symposium

2023 Program

We’re working on this event’s program. To see the types of session you can expect, check out the 2022 program.

2022 Program

During the virtual, half-day event hosted by ABA and the Illinois Bankers Association, attendees will hear from experienced keynote speakers, engage in thoughtful discussions and leave empowered to cultivate a better banking industry.

  • April 5

April 5

2:30 PM – 2:35 PM ET / 1:30 PM – 1:35 PM CT

Welcome Remarks

  • Randy Hultgren, President and CEO, Illinois Bankers Association
  • Rob Nichols, President and CEO, American Bankers Association

2:35 PM – 3:35 PM ET / 1:35 PM – 2:35 PM CT

Leading from the Inside Out

Today’s professionals want emotionally intelligent leaders who see them, understand them and create cultures that enable them to thrive. In this high-energy, practical and engaging session, participants will discover a fresh take on emotional intelligence to better their lives—and organizations. Working with media veteran Jennifer Keitt, you’ll create an emotion regulation game plan, identify your emotion GPA and leave with winning strategies.

  • Jennifer Keitt, CEO, The Keitt Institute; Host, PowerHer Radio 

3:35 PM – 4:00 PM ET / 2:35 PM – 3:00 PM CT

It’s Up To Us: The Essentialism of Women In Banking Advocating For One Another

Being a woman in banking means a lot of things in 2022. We are juggling the balance of our careers and families, dealing with burnout and doing what we can to make strides in a male-dominated industry. In Natalie’s session, you’ll be inspired to advocate for the women on your team, challenged to bring up the next generation of women talent and ready to implement new strategies at your bank. Get to know Natalie’s platform “The Girl Banker” at thegirlbanker.com or by listening to “The Girl Banker” podcast.  

  • Natalie Bartholomew, “The Girl Banker”; Chief Impact Officer, Citizens Bank of Edmond

4:00 PM – 4:15 PM ET / 3:00 PM – 3:15 PM CT

Break

4:15 PM – 5:00 PM ET / 3:15 PM – 4:00 PM CT

The Value of Mentorship and Sponsorship

Mentorship and sponsorship are two equally critical initiatives proven to help close the gender gap in business. Hear from three industry leaders how these two types of support affect the career trajectory of female bank leaders. Leave with actionable takeaways that can be implemented by mentor and mentee.    

  • Andy Anderson, President and CEO, Bank of Anguilla
  • Kim Cullotta, Executive Vice President and Group Head, People, Culture, and Communications, Federal Home Loan Bank of Chicago
  • Moderator/Speaker: Michelle L. Gross, Illinois Bankers Association Chair; Executive Vice President/Chief Operating Officer, State Bank of Bement

5:00 PM – 5:30 PM ET / 4:00 PM – 4:30 PM CT

Making An Impact

U.S. Rep. Joyce Beatty (D-OH) speaks with ABA’s James Ballentine about her work as chairwoman of the House Financial Services Diversity and Inclusion Subcommittee. Hear leadership lessons from Beatty’s personal story and career as a public servant that all bankers can use to ensure the financial services industry works better for all Americans.

  • Rep. Joyce Beatty (D-OH)
  • James Ballentine, Executive Vice President, Congressional Relations & Political Affairs, American Bankers Association
This program is subject to change. Please bookmark this page to check for continuing updates. Read ABA Conference and School Policies to help answer additional questions.

Keep Me Informed

Get updates on the next session of the Women and Allies Leadership Symposium. Contact Traci Leiva if you have any questions.