Jump to Content
ABA: The American Bankers Association
Skip Section Navigation
What is the submission entry period?

The entry period opens May 1 and closes July 1 at 11:59 PM ET.

What is the submission format?

Banks must complete and submit the Community Commitment Award entry form and/or the George Bailey Distinguished Service Award nomination form.

How will I know my form has been received?

You will receive a confirmation email within 24-48 hours after you submit the form(s).

Are other documents needed?

The submission process and judging process is focused solely on narratives in the entry form. However, links to videos about the program/project can be included in the General Summary section of the entry form. It is important to know that videos will not replace the required narratives nor will they be used as part of the judging process. Review the Guide to Preparing an Award Winning Entry for assistance crafting the narratives.

Can my bank apply in multiple categories?

Yes. A bank may enter a different or the same program/project in multiple categories. A separate entry form must be completed and submitted for each category. If entering the same program/project in multiple categories, it is strongly suggested that you tailor the entry form questions to the category.

Can I nominate myself for the George Bailey Distinguished Service Award?

Yes. The George Bailey Award is open to any non-CEO bank employee.

How are the winning banks notified and when?

The contact person listed on the entry form will be notified via phone and email approximately eight (8) weeks after the close of the entry period. 

When are the winners publicly announced and awards presented?

An email announcing the winners will be sent to all award entrants in September. The awards will be presented in October at the ABA Annual Convention in Boston.

How will the awards be judged?

Entries will be scored based on compelling narratives that illustrate impactful community outreach and provide supporting statistics—such as volunteer hours, resources or other measurable benefits.

Who are the judges?

Award finalists will be judged by nationally recognized experts in their fields.