This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, gather site analytics and activity, track shopping cart contents, and deliver relevant marketing information.
View our privacy policy and manage your settings here. By using our site you agree to these terms.
For Immediate Release
August 8, 2016
ABA Media Contact: John Hall
(202) 663-5473
Follow us on Twitter: @ABABankers

ABA Nominates Officers for 2016-2017


​WASHINGTON — The American Bankers Association’s Nominating Committee has selected the official slate of candidates for ABA officers for election at the association’s annual convention to be held in Nashville, October 16-18. 
 The committee, chaired by John Ikard, president and CEO of FirstBank Holding Co., Lakewood, Colo., nominated these candidates for ABA officer positions:
  • CHAIRMAN:  Dorothy A. Savarese, chairman, president and CEO, Cape Cod Five Cents Savings Bank, Orleans, Mass.;
  • CHAIRMAN-ELECT: Kenneth L. Burgess, Jr., chairman, FirstCapital Bank of Texas, Midland, Texas; 
  • VICE CHAIRMAN:  Jeffrey M. Szyperski, chairman, president and CEO, Chesapeake Bank, Kilmarnock, Va.; and
  • TREASURER:  George W. Hermann, president & CEO, Windsor Federal Savings, Windsor, Conn.
“We’re excited the nominating committee has provided such a terrific slate of officers for our coming year,” said Rob Nichols, ABA president and CEO. “These bankers volunteer hundreds of hours of their time to represent America’s banks before Congress, regulatory agencies and industry events throughout the U.S. and beyond.  Our industry is extremely fortunate to have their leadership.”
The American Bankers Association is the voice of the nation’s $16 trillion banking industry, which is composed of small, regional and large banks that together employ more than 2 million people, safeguard $12 trillion in deposits and extend nearly $8 trillion in loans. Learn more at
# # #