This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, gather site analytics and activity, track shopping cart contents, and deliver relevant marketing information.
View our privacy policy and manage your settings here. By using our site you agree to these terms.
For Immediate Release
July 16, 2019
ABA Media Contact: Jeff Sigmund
(202) 663-5439
Follow us on Twitter: @ABABankers

ABA Nominates Officers for 2019-2020


​WASHINGTON — The American Bankers Association’s Nominating Committee has selected the official slate of candidates for ABA officers for election at the association’s annual convention to be held in Seattle, October 27-29.
The Committee, chaired by Kenneth L. Burgess, Jr., chairman, FirstCapital Bank of Texas, NA, Midland, Texas, nominated these candidates for ABA officer positions:
  • CHAIR: Laura Lee (Laurie) Stewart, president and CEO, Sound Community Bank, Seattle;
  • CHAIRMAN-ELECT: James J. Edwards, Jr., CEO, United Bank, Griffin, Ga.;
  • VICE CHAIRMAN: A. Scott Anderson, president and CEO, Zions Bank, Salt Lake City; and
  • TREASURER: Luther Deaton, Jr., chairman, president and CEO, Central Bank and Trust Co., Lexington, Ky.
“We thank the Nominating Committee for assembling such an impressive slate of officers for the year ahead,” said Rob Nichols, ABA president and CEO. “These dedicated leaders travel the country to represent banks of all sizes before Congress, regulators and other critical audiences. Their collective experience, depth of knowledge and unmatched commitment are an asset to our industry.”
The American Bankers Association is the voice of the nation’s $18 trillion banking industry, which is composed of small, regional and large banks. Together, America’s banks employ more than 2 million men and women, safeguard nearly $14 trillion in deposits and extend more than $10 trillion in loans.