Jump to Content
ABA: The American Bankers Association
Compliance News

Senate Confirms Starks to FCC Commissioner Seat

Prior to adjournment of the 115th Congress, the Senate confirmed by voice vote Geoffrey Starks to the Democratic seat on the Federal Communications Commission that was vacated when Mignon Clyburn resigned last summer. Starks will complete Clyburn's five-year term, which runs from July 2017 to July 2022. Prior to his nomination, Starks served as an Assistant Bureau Chief with the FCC's Enforcement Bureau and earlier held positions in the Justice Department during the Obama Administration and with a Washington, D.C. law firm. The Senate also confirmed by voice vote FCC Commissioner Brendan Carr to a new five-year term ending in June 2023.