Jump to Content
Press Release

ABA Elects Officers, Board for 2017-2018

WASHINGTON — Members attending the AmericanBankers Association’s annual convention in Chicago, have elected new ABAofficers and directors to serve on ABA’s board for the 2017–2018association year. The new officers are:
  • CHAIRMAN:  Kenneth L. Burgess, Jr., chairman, FirstCapital Bank of Texas, Midland, Texas; 
  • CHAIRMAN-ELECT: Jeffrey M. Szyperski, chairman, president and CEO, Chesapeake Bank, Kilmarnock, Va.;
  • VICE CHAIRMAN:  Laurie Stewart, president and CEO, Sound Community Bank, Seattle; and
  • TREASURER:  George W. Hermann, president & CEO, Windsor Federal Savings, Windsor, Conn.
Beginning new terms on the ABA board are:
  • Stacey J. Bentley, president and CEO, Community Bank and Trust Company, Waterloo, Iowa.;
  • Jill Castilla, president and CEO, Citizens Bank of Edmond, Edmond, Okla.;
  • W. Wesley Hoskins, president and CEO, First Community Bank, Corpus Christi, Texas;
  • D. Bryan Jordan, chairman, president and CEO, First Horizon National Corporation, Memphis, Tenn.;
  • Andrea B. Smith, chief administrative officers, Bank of America, Charlotte, N.C.; and
  • E. Philip Wenger, chairman, president and CEO, Fulton Financial Corporation, Lancaster, Pa.
Continuing their terms on the ABA board are:
  • A. Scott Anderson, president and CEO, Zions Bank, Salt Lake City;
  • Rheo A. Brouillard, president and CEO, Savings Institute Bank and Trust Company, Willimantic, Conn.;
  • Dr. Deborah A. Cole, president and CEO, Citizens Savings Bank and Trust Company, Nashville, Tenn.;
  • Luther Deaton, Jr., chairman, president and CEO, Central Bank and Trust Company, Lexington, Ky.;
  • James J. Edwards, Jr., chairman and CEO, United Bank Corp, Griffin, Ga.;
  • Patricia A. Husic, president and CEO, Centric Financial Corporation, Harrisburg, Pa.;
  • Douglas B. Petno, CEO Commercial Banking, JPMorgan Chase & Co., New York;
  • Manolo Sánchez, chairman, BBVA Compass, Houston;
  • Daniel J. Schrider, president and CEO, Sandy Spring Bancorp, Inc., Olney, Md.;
  • Julieann M. Thurlow, president and CEO, Reading Co-Operative Bank, Reading, Mass.;
  • Louise Walker, president and CEO, First Northern Community Bancorp, Dixon, Calif.;
  • H. McCall Wilson, Jr., president and CEO, The Bank of Fayette County, Rossville, Tenn.;
  • Paul V. Woolway, president and CEO, Charles Schwab Bank, San Francisco;
  • DorothyA. Savarese, chairman, president and CEO, Cape Cod Five Cents SavingsBank, Orleans, Mass., and chairman of the ABA Nominating Committee;
  • Jeffrey K. Ball, president and CEO, Friendly Hills Bank, Whittier, Calif., and chairman of the ABA Government Relations Council;
  • James A. Reuter, CEO, FirstBank Holding Company, Denver, and vice chairman of the ABA Government Relations Council; and
  • ScottE. Latham, president and CEO, Alabama Bankers Association, Montgomery,Ala., and the ABA State Banker Association Alliance representative.  


About the American Bankers Association

The American Bankers Association is the voice of the nation’s $17 trillion banking industry, which is composed of small, midsize, regional and large banks that together employ more than 2 million people, safeguard $13 trillion in deposits and extend nearly $10 trillion in loans.

Press Contact

Jeff Sigmund

(202) 663-5439

Contact Jeff

Stay Connected