Fair Lending

The Equal Credit Opportunity Act and the Fair Housing Act are designed to protect consumers from unfair or discriminatory lending practices. Two primary laws govern fair lending practices:
  • Equal Credit Opportunity Act (ECOA)/Regulation B
    ECOA, enacted in 1974, prohibits discrimination based on race, color, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, age, source of income or whether a person exercises rights granted under the Consumer Credit Protection Act for any credit transaction and through the life of the loan.
  • Fair Housing Act (FHA)
    The Fair Housing Act is part of the Civil Rights Act of 1968. The FHA makes it unlawful for any lender to discriminate in housing-related lending activities against any persons because of their race, color, religion, national origin, handicap, family status or sex.


 Recent Developments


 The Basics




Exam Procedures




Staff Analysis

Agency Materials

Other ABA Resources






Questions? Please contact Rob Rowe, Mark Kruhm, or Rick Freer for more information.